Sandy 10 raises £1,200 for St John’s Hospice

[click to enlarge]
Members of Biggleswade AC present cheque to Fay Boisseaux from Sue Ryder’s St John’s Hospice
This year’s Sandy 10 road race, held on 12th April, was once again a huge success with over 600 entries, and this has enabled race organisers, Biggleswade Athletic Club, to donate £1,200 from the race proceeds, to the Sue Ryder hospice at St John’s in Moggerhanger.

The cheque was formally presented to St John’s Regional Fundraiser, Fay Boissieux, at a special ceremony held at the athletics track in Sandy on Tuesday 28th July.

Biggleswade AC have a long tradition of donating surplus race proceeds to charity, the club has now given more than £23,000 to local causes.

The provisional date for next year’s Sandy 10 is Sunday 10th April so make sure you put the date in your diary.

Where there’s a Will


It was near-perfect running conditions for the 32nd Sandy 10 mile road race last Sunday, hosted by Biggleswade AC. Unfortunately, just minutes before the race was due to start the wind speed increased dramatically, creating a very strong headwind as the 470 runners approached the midway marker.

Once again, the volunteer marshals wore silly hats, a tradition which started on the 25th anniversary of the race and has now become the trademark of this popular event.

The race is a local favourite and also a key fixture for athletes who want to sharpen up their pace before taking part in the London Marathon two weeks later.

Will Green, winner of the Sandy 10 road race 2015

Making a welcome return, after missing this event last year though injury, Serpentine Runner, Will Green, led from the start, gradually extending his lead over the trailing pack, to finish in 54m 34s, almost three minutes ahead of Paul Adams (St Albans Striders) in second place, and Adam Mills (Bedford Harriers), who finished a further thirty seconds behind him in a time of 57m 45s.

It was a double for Bedford Harriers in the ladies race, with Gill Fullen a clear winner, finishing in 62m 57s, with last year’s ladies winner, Kirstie Meeten, in second place in a time of 65m 27s, and St Albans Striders, Wendy Walsh, finishing third with a time of 67m 01s.

The ‘Roger Wadeley Trophy’, for the Best Age Graded Performance, was won by Gill Fullen of Bedford Harriers.
The male veteran category prize winners were keenly contested with Grant Ramsey (Fairlands Valley Spartans) winning the MV40, Tony Barnes (Bedford Harriers) the MV50, Barry Osborne (Fairlands Valley Spartans) the MV60 and Ian Milburn (Fenland Running Club) the MV70 category.

The ladies veteran awards were also hotly challenged, with Nicola Bowerman (Ampthill & Flitwick Flyers) winning the LV35, Paula Adams (North Herts Road Runners) the LV 45, Deirdre Heydecker (St Albans Striders) the LV55 and Barbara Reading (Riverside Runners) the LV65 category.

In the team competitions, defending champions, Ampthill & Flitwick Flyers once again took the men’s team prize, and St Albans Striders the women’s. Unsurprisingly, Bedford Harriers retained the Erlensee Cup for the most runners (89 in total) entered in the race.

The two local winners – that is the fastest male and fastest female living within the SG18 and SG19 post code areas – were Ashley Howes and Fiona Montilla.

The club were honoured to have the Mayor of Sandy, Will Jackson, to present the awards, and race organiser, Jan Blake, in this her first year as Race Director, was absolutely delighted with the day having received many positive comments from runners who had enjoyed the event.

Biggleswade AC would like to extend a huge thank you to its sponsors: Advance Performance (Cambridge), Marshalls (Sandy) and Tesco (Sandy), and also a big thank you to the cadets from Bedfordshire Police, the crew from St John’s Ambulance, and the ladies from Sue Ryder St John’s for helping make this year’s event, our most successful race to date.
The proceeds from this year’s Sandy 10 will go to Sue Ryder St John’s Hospice at Moggerhanger.

Full results can be found on the Sandy 10 website.

Fun runners enjoy sunshine

As the participants in the Sandy 10 road race disappeared into the distance all eyes then turned to the 3K Fun Run.

With 36 competitors of varying ages the runners were buffeted by strong winds as they headed out of the school grounds and around the adjoining football fields before heading back towards the school and finishing with a lap of the athletics track.

All the competitors finished the race in an amazing time of 20m 15s, with the winners receiving a small trophy, from Mayor of Sandy, Will Jackson, as an acknowledgement of their outstanding efforts.

U11 Boys Luke Gardener
U11 Girls Sophie Worrall
U13 Boys Daniel Hemming
U13 Girls Jessica Cooke
U15 Boys Andrew Worrall
U15 Girls Montana Edgehill
U20 Men David Lee
Senior Men Martin Gardener
Senior Lady Joanne Gibb

Full results can be found here