Next generation: BAC juniors rewarded for great season at presentation evening

eyal pic
BAC’s juniors were recognised for hard work and dedication to competition throughout the year

Last week saw Biggleswade AC’s annual Junior Presentation Evening, organised by Mandie Trudgill. Another excellent season of competition and achievement was recognised, with the club’s youngsters racking up PBs galore.

Age group club champions for 2018 are:

Under 11 girls Orlagh Brunning
Under 11 boys Charlie Phillips
Under 13 girls Madison Ball
Under 13 boys Freddie Steele
Under 15 girls Hannah Brunning
Under 15 boys Kareem Davis
Under 17 girls Leonie Brunning
Under 17 boys Cameron Rayner

As host of other prizes were also handed out recognising exceptional performances and hard work throughout the year.

Leonie Brunning in high jump action. Photo by Brunnings
Leonie Brunning enjoyed a brilliant season in which she earned a national vest. Photo by Brunnings

Best performance – female junior Leonie Brunning
Best performance – male junior George Hardy

Great achievement – Adam Reed (shaving seven seconds off his 800m PB)

The Most improved award is generally given to one boy and one girl, however, and Mandie Trudgill says: “This year rather than presenting Most improved boy/girl awards I decided to present EVERY member of my EYAL squad with a medal as this track season at one meet or another EVERY squad member PB’d and I wanted to celebrate this.”

Those rewarded were:
Madison Ball, Sophie Forbes Laird, Meera Kofkin, Shannon Barker, Sophie Steele, Hannah Brunning, Jessica Cooke, Natasha Ryall, Leonie Brunning, Cameron Rayner, Toby Foster, Elliot Swinburne, Kareem Davis, Adam Reed, Henry Gibb, Freddie Steele, Jack Papworth, Donncha Blake, Arlo Treece, Casey T Woods, Nicholas Batterbee, Bailey Foster, Nathan Cant, Peter Murphy and Teagan Blake.

For the Biggleswade Spirit awards, Mandie says: “This year I presented five awards for showing team spirit and traveling to Ipswich to compete in the EYAL – that day I had only the five in my squad.”

Rewarded were Madison Ball, Hannah Brunning, Leonie Brunning, Arlo Treece and Cameron Rayner.

In honour of the late Sonia Brown, the much-missed club stalwart who died earlier this year, the Dedication Cup was inaugurated. “In honour of Sonia and everything she did for BAC this year we have introduced the SBDC. This is to be presented to a Little Bee, chosen by coaches for their dedication and commitment to the Little Bees and LBs and BAC.” The first winner of what’s sure to be a prized award is Ava Rawlins.

The Little Bee Endeavour award – given in recognition of improvement and perseverance – went to Annabelle Hipkin.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s