Victory for Leighton Buzzard AC at this year’s Sandy 10 Road Race

The overall winner of this year’s 2016 Sandy 10 Road Race was Jordan Clay of Leighton Buzzard Athletic Club, who managed to knock more than a minute off his excellent 2015 finishing time.

image Jordan crossed the line in an impressive 57 minutes 2 seconds, followed closely by Glen Turner, also from Leighton Buzzard, only 18 seconds behind him.  Hot on his heels was Simon Fraser of St Albans Striders, who finished in 57 minutes 27 seconds, beating his 2015 race time by nearly three minutes and improving his overall position from seventh to third.

In the Ladies’ race, unattached athlete Georgia Wood crossed the line in 66 minutes 28 seconds, followed just 10 seconds later by Laura Brine who joined her Leighton Buzzard AC team-mates in the winners’ spotlight.  In third place was Geraldine Larham of March Athletic Club, who crossed the line in exactly 68 minutes.

The ‘Roger Wadeley Trophy’, for the Best Age Graded Performance, was won by Steven Clarke of Amazing Feet Running Club.  Steven also won first place in the MV40 category with his time of 57 minutes 54 seconds.  Other winners in the male veteran category were Martin Beare of Ampthill & Flitwick Flyers who won the MV50 category; Riverside Runners’ Patrick Ellerbeck who took the MV60 trophy and Norman Whitwood of Harpenden Arrows who won the MV70 category.

In the Ladies Veterans category, Bedford Harriers’ Melissa Burrell won the LV35 category; Paula Dowling of Mablethorpe Running Club took the LV45 trophy; Bobbie Sauerzapf of Bungay Black Dog RC won the LV55 and Margaret Waddingham of Ware Joggers took the LV65 prize.

In the team competitions it was a clean sweep for Leighton Buzzard AC, who took both the men’s and ladies’ team prizes.  Werrington Joggers won the Erlensee Cup for the most runners with 56 members of their club entering the race.

The two local winners – that is the fastest male and fastest female living within the SG18 and SG19 post code areas – were unattached runner Thomas Hull and Ann Wood of Werrington Joggers.

The complete finishers list and list of prizewinners can be found on the Sandy 10 page on our website.

The club was honoured to have the Mayor of Sandy, Will Jackson, to present the awards and who made it a really memorable day for all our winners. Biggleswade AC would also like to extend a huge thank you to its sponsors including Marshalls of Sandy who provide the race t-shirts, The Barns Fitness Studios of Potton for the donation of prizes, to Tesco Sandy for providing the bananas and water, and to the volunteers from Sue Ryder St John’s who did a fantastic job in distributing race t-shirts to all 477 race finishers. We would also like to thank Bedfordshire Police and Hearts Services who provided first aid services to the race for the first time and who we hope will join the team, once again, for next year’s Sandy 10.

The club was absolutely delighted with the day having received many positive comments on social media from runners who had enjoyed the event:

“Brilliantly organised and supported, thank you” – Tracey Chapman

“Thanks for organising such a great event!  The marshals were amazing.  I especially liked the marshal who told me I only had 500 metres to go!”– Trudy Bard-Pearce

“Great race, great marshals and great support en route (especially the donkey in the field!).  I will definitely be back” – Joey Garner

“Many thanks for some great organisation and all your supportive marshals.  They made all the difference” – Tracey Gladstone

All proceeds from this year’s Sandy 10 will go to Sue Ryder St John’s Hospice at Moggerhanger.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s